For immediate publication
Thursday 10th September 2015

Attention: News desks


Alex Salmond MSP (Aberdeenshire East) MP (Gordon) has today (Thursday 10th September 2015) congratulated local Aberdeenshire man, John Schneider, for receiving the Community Path Volunteer of Year Award at this week’s Scottish Parliamentary reception ‘Celebrating Scotland's Walking Champions.’

Mr Schneider, from Daviot Community Trust, was nominated for the award after masterminding the planning and construction of a network of paths his area to make the land accessible for the whole community. 

As well as writing to Mr Schneider to congratulate him, Mr Salmond also lodged a Parliamentary motion commending him for his hard work within the local community and congratulating him on receiving this excellent award. 

Commenting, Mr Salmond said:

“This is a fantastic achievement and one that John should take great pride in!
“John put a lot of hard work into the planning of these paths and did it all in his own time.
“It is only right that he had been granted national recognition for his contribution to his community.”



Motion S4M-14202: Alex Salmond, Aberdeenshire East, Scottish National Party, Date Lodged: 10/09/2015
Community Path Volunteer of the Year 2015
That the Parliament congratulates John Schneider from the Daviot Community Trust in Aberdeenshire on being presented with the Community Path Volunteer of the Year award at the Celebrating Scotland's Walking Champions reception, which was held in the Parliament on 8 September 2015; understands that he masterminded the planning and construction of a network of paths that make the land accessible for people, and commends John on what it sees as his hard work in the community.
Supported by: James Dornan, Nanette Milne, Adam Ingram, Chic Brodie, Roderick Campbell, Joan McAlpine, Kenneth Gibson, Patricia Ferguson, Bill Kidd, David Torrance, Graeme Dey, Rob Gibson, Mike MacKenzie, Drew Smith, Sandra White